The 2007 Dipsea

Jamie Berns cruises to victory For the spectators at Stinson Beach, there were no complaints about the weather: sunny and warm. However, as many Dipsea runners can attest, warm weather is not exactly the most ideal of conditions to run the Dipsea Race. Heat and dehydration take their toll, and many runners required medical attention and were unable to finish the race.

Jamie Berns and Russ Kiernan started the race together with 17 headstart minutes, but it was Jamie who was able to outkick Russ to win her first Dipsea championship. Roy Rivers was able to pass Russ on the "Swoop", and was looking to catch Jamie before the finish, but perhaps the heat was too much for him, and was passed by Russ Kiernan before staggering to the finish. Still, Roy Rivers walked away with a respectable third place.

Mark McManus tore up the trail to repeat the fastest time of the race, with a time of 51:54, earning him eighth place; while Liz Fagan-Gottlieb finished with the fastest women's time of 58:33, and sixth place overall.

However, the 97th Dipsea was marked by the conspicuous absence of Jack Kirk, who passed away in January at the age of 100. The "Dipsea Demon" ran every Dipsea from 1930 through 2003, and still appeared at both the start and the finish in subsequent years. This year was the first year since 1929 that the Dipsea Demon was not at the race. However, his presence will still be felt at the Dipsea Race for generations to come.

Final Results by Order of Finish

Final Results in Alphabetical Order

Final Results by Starting Group

Click here to view the 2007 Dipsea Race Photo Scrapbook

The 2007 Awards
Winner: Jamie Berns 1:04:05(17 Minutes Headstart)
2nd Place: Russ Kiernan1:05:45(17 Minutes Headstart)
3rd Place: Roy Rivers 0:55:20(6 Minutes Headstart)
4th Place: Cliff Lentz 0:52:24(3 Minutes Headstart)
5th Place: Judy Rabinowitz 1:02:54(13 Minutes Headstart)

Fastest Time Male:
Mark McManus 8th Place 51:54(1 Minute Headstart)

Fastest Time Female:
Liz Fagan-Gottlieb 6th Place 58:33 (8 Minutes Headstart)

First High School Finisher:
Jacque Taylor 20th Place 1:03:35 (10 Minutes Headstart)
Casa Grande High School - Petaluma, CA

Winning Team: Tamalpa Runners
1. Jamie Berns Winner 1:04:05(17 Minutes Headstart)
2. Russ Kiernan2nd Place 1:05:45(17 Minutes Headstart)
3. Roy Rivers 3rd Place 0:55:20(6 Minutes Headstart)
4. Judy Rabinowitz 5th Place 1:02:54(13 Minutes Headstart)
5. Jerry Edelbrock 7th Place 1:01:47(11 Minutes Headstart)

Alan Beardall Award: Winning Family
1. Michael Lopez 54th Place 1:01:52(5 Minutes Headstart)
2. Christine Lopez 90th Place 1:10:03 (11 Minutes Headstart)

First Finisher-Dipsea Section
Chikara Omine 595th Place 54:58 (Scratch)

Jerry Hauke Perpetual Award (The Red Tailed Hawk)
"Leadership, Dedication and Sportsmanship"
Russ Kiernan, Dipsea Race Participant

Norman Bright Award
"Extraordinary Effort in the Dipsea"
David Hannaford 353rd Place 1:16:44 (9 Minutes Headstart)

Jack Kirk "Dipsea Demon" Award
"Dedication, Perseverance and Performance"
Barbara Robben 709th Place 2:01:54 (25 Minutes Headstart)

Dipsea Foundation: Scholarship Recipients
Gabrielle Joffe - Marin Catholic High School
Ford Nickels - Marin Catholic High School