The 2005 Dipsea

Melody Breaks the Tape The Annual Dipsea Race celebrated its one-hundredth birthday on sunny and moderately warm June 12, 2005 with a line-up of winners so appropriate to the occasion it looked like a script out of Hollywood.

The first place winner was Russ Kiernan, 67 years old, who has won twice before. A genial and much-admired participant who has run in 34 Dipsea races, Kiernan represents the old guard of senior runners who have dominated the race for almost a decade.

But there was also a strong showing this year from runners new to the Dipsea winner's circle. Roy Rivers, 48, came in second with an actual running time of just 52:33. And fully twenty-five per cent of this year's black shirt winners did not even place among the top 100 in 2004.

An experienced runner, 63-year-old Melody Anne Schultz did come in third with a respectable 1:08:51. But it seemed clear that a new generation is establishing itself in the race.

These younger men and women announced with their energy and performance that there's a strong core of runners ready to challenge for leadership as the race speeds into its second century.

Final Results by Order of Finish

Final Results by Last Name

Final Results by Headstart Group

Final Results - Family Teams

Click here to view the 2005 Dipsea Race Photo Scrapbook

The 2005 Awards
Winner: Russ Kiernan 1:03:44(17 Minutes Headstart)
2nd Place: Roy Rivers 52:33(5 Minutes Headstart)
3rd Place: Melody Anne Schultz 1:08:51(21 Minutes Headstart)
4th Place: Heidi Swan 1:01:18(13 Minutes Headstart)
5th Place: Cliff Lentz 51:32(2 Minutes Headstart)

Fastest Time Male:
Christopher Phipps 8th Place 51:24 (1 Minute Headstart)

Fastest Time Female:
Liz Fagan Gottlieb 25th Place 1:00:42 (12 Minutes Headstart)

First High School Finisher:
Alesandra Roger 26th Place 1:02:43 (10 Minutes Headstart)
Marin Academy - San Rafael, California

Winning Team: Tamalpa Runners
1. Russ Kiernan Winner 1:03:44
2. Roy Rivers 2nd Place 52:33
3. Melody Anne Schultz 3rd Place 1:08:51
4. Heidi Swan 4th Place 1:01:18
5. Judy Rabinowitz 6th Place 1:01:36

Alan Beardall Award: Winning Family
1. Diana Fitzpatrick 7th Place 1:01:58
2. Timothy Fitzpatrick 90st Place 1:01:25

Jerry Hauke Perpetual Award (The Red Tailed Hawk)
"Leadership, Dedication and Sportsmanship"
Dave Albee, Sports Writer, Marin Independent Journal

First Finisher-Dipsea Section
Mark McManus 578th Place 52:49 (1 Minute Headstart)

Norman Bright Award
"Extraordinary Effort in the Dipsea"
Sam Hirabayashi 194th Place 1:25:58 (23 Minutes Headstart)

Jack Kirk "Dipsea Demon" Award
"Dedication, Perseverance and Performance"
Darryl Beardall 440th Place 1:28:20 (19 Minutes Headstart)

Dipsea Foundation: Scholarship Recipients
Lucy Gibbs - Tamalpais High School
Grace Hunter - San Francisco University High School
Robert Kuslits - Antioch High School
Emma Oppen - Tomales High School